5 minutes… with Jordan Dillon of JD Elite Technique

24 year old Jordan Dillon, originally from the Markethill area and now living in Portadown, has been sports mad since a young age. It seems only right that his passion would one day lead to a career.

A year ago, the Ulster University alumni set about establishing himself as a Strength and Conditioning Coach and built his own business, JD Elite Technique in Portadown.

It’s been an enjoyable process for Jordan, who is clearly doing what he loves for a living; meeting new people and helping them to achieve their goals.

Why did you choose being a Strength and Conditioning Coach as a career/business?

I have always been involved with sports from a young age. I started off playing football aged 6 and really just participated in any sport that would get me out of the classroom. When I initially started thinking of career I thought about going into physio but decided it wasn’t for me. Then I thought about teaching and took on a teaching placement for a year with university but again, whilst I enjoyed it I decided it wasn’t for me. I suppose I am still teaching now in a way.

What are you most proud of in your career to date?

Setting up my own business. It was a piece by piece process which really started during lockdown. I bought bits of gym equipment to get me started and gradually just added onto that over time.

What is your favourite thing about your job?

Working with someone different every hour. Every hour is different and tailored to the individual so the most I will ever be doing the same thing is for an hour and then it changes up for the next client coming in.

What has been the biggest challenge in your job?

Initially, when I was setting up the business I think my biggest challenge as thinking I wasn’t the right person for it. Imposter syndrome definitely sets in, especially in the early days when you’re still trying to build clientele and then as the clients come and you get busier you settle down and realise that it was the right move.

Did you go onto further education for your job?

Yes, I was at university for 5 years including my placement year. My undergraduate degree is in Sports and Exercise Science and I have a Masters degree in Strength and Conditioning.

What is the most helpful advice that you have been given?

You can’t please everyone. I can’t actually remember who said this to me but it’s stuck with me ever since.

If you could choose anything else to do, what would it be?

Good question! I don’t actually know, I’ve never thought about it. All I know is it would have to be sports related in some way. I couldn’t ever see myself being in an office for example. I have to be active.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?

I still play football and I’m involved with the youth development with Markethill Swifts as a coach.

What is your favourite food?

It would have to be a beef burger.

What is your favourite book?

I don’t actually have one. I don’t get a lot of time for reading.

What are you currently watching?

I enjoy a good series on Netflix but I’m currently looking for something new to watch.

Dead or alive, who would you most want to meet and why?

I would really love to meet Stephen Gerard. I’d just like to ask him a few football related questions and ask if he still thinks about slipping!

To be featured in our Job Profiles contact us on 02837 443 043 or marketing@armaghi.com

Search job listings